Beware When Shooting Video With This iPhone App

I downloaded the Filmic Pro app a couple of weeks ago and wrote about my initial impressions: what stood out, what I liked, and what I was concerned about. One of the items in my list of concerns was the fact that the app seemed to be cropping some of my footage. I was hoping that this was simply a bug in the app's Preview window. Unfortunately, that's not the case. I ingested the clips tonight to review them, and each one came out looking like this:

I sent an email to the Filmic Pro developers and received a very prompt reply from Kate:

I apologise that you’re experiencing an issue with our app! The issue you’re describing is a known bug in the current version of FiLMiC Pro. We believed we had this issue fixed in the most recent release but it looks like it’s still out there. Our development team is focused on getting it fixed for the next release. We anticipate that should be out in the coming weeks. Please let us know if you have any additional questions or concerns. We truly appreciate your patience as we work towards a resolution on this one!

It's obvious that I'm not the only one experiencing this issue and I'm glad to know that the Filmic Pro staff is aware of the issue. It's fortunate that I was only shooting some test footage and not working on a more extensive project.

If you are a Filmic Pro user and would like to share your experiences, please feel free to do so in the Comments section.